Sharing of information
Pay attention on the way how files are being shared on internet. This article gives instructions how to control the settings of sharing material.
Information sharing: everything open to the world or treated confidentially?
When sharing data in shared workspaces, such as Teams, it is worth pausing for a moment to think about what kind of information you are sharing and whether the information is intended to be public or used by a limited number of people. When a document is shared in Teams, it is worth reviewing who inherits access to it. Click and select the three dots after a Teams team name to see how permissions for the team and its channels are assigned.
Even if a Teams team is not visible to everyone, visitors outside Haaga-Helia may also have access to the material there. Rights to a team are inherited by its standard channels. If Teams handles material whose access rights should be restricted to only some team members, a private channel can be set up for this purpose. To restrict access, select Private as the channel type, and then select its members. A private channel is identified by the lock icon next to the channel name.
Documents can also be processed outside the Teams user interface. One way to work with and share files is to provide a link to the material. However, we recommend that you be cautious about this approach, because through the link anyone could get access to the material without access granted to them.
To support safe operations, we have prepared instructions for sharing documents on Teams channels. The instructions are permanently available on the Intra.
See your info in Delve, or don’t
Microsoft Delve aggregates and displays information shared between you and your closest colleagues. Through Delve, you can see which shared documents each person has worked on. If Delve shows too much, permissions have been allocated unnecessarily.
The intranet contains instructions on how to limit the display of information through Delve. This does not remove accidentally assigned permissions that should be corrected by the owner.